Welcome to the Hofstra Law Library! We are all here to help you succeed in law school! This guide is designed to help you navigate the Law Library and its resources. See our Contact Box at left for who to talk to when you need assistance.
Click on the image below for an interactive campus map
The library already provides access to some treatises, cases & materials, and other helpful books via its LexisNexis Digital Library. For digital textbooks/casebooks, contact sales to purchase via LDL.
Lexis Digital Library has an arrangement with Carolina Academic Press. They provide some Carolina Academic Press titles digitally via their platform. Check to see if the title is available through Lexis Digital Library
If you order print copies directly from CAP's website you will receive a 10% discount and free shipping on orders over $50.
The Law Library has a West Academic account that grants access to some Hornbook Treatises.
To purchase casebooks/textbooks not available via the library accounts, students may create their own WestAcademic account to purchase casebooks. You can get a 15% discount on both print books and eBooks by using discount code WAHOFSTRA at checkout on westacademic.com.
If you have questions or need technical support:
Call: 1-877-888-1330 (option 4)
Email: support@westacademic.com
Sign into ProView using your Westlaw account information.
Access many important legal resources including, but not limited to, Siegel's New York Practice!
Under Law eBook Access you can click or tap:
FAQs on collection use from Wolters Kluwer (ASPEN)
Includes information on how to download books, how to use your personal account to add notes and highlight, how to print, and more.
New York Public Library (NYPL) offers remote access to online resources, including research databases and e-books. Databases that are available remotely may be found here.
New York State residents may obtain access to these resources via NYPL's SimplyE app. The app uses GPS to ensure that the request is coming from New York State. If you are outside of New York State, the NYPL recommends contacting your local public library system. After downloading the app, go to Settings, then Accounts, then select the New York Public Library, and follow instructions from there.
When you create your account, you will be issued a barcode number that can be used to access other online resources, such as databases and e-books.
Public libraries have many online tools, including e-books, e-audiobooks, databases, and other digital collections and more.
Many of your courses will use Canvas a course management tool. Some, however, may continue to use TWEN. (For more information on TWEN, see the instructional video in this guide.)
You can access Canvas via the Portal.
You can access TWEN via Westlaw. You will use the same login credentials for both TWEN and Westlaw. Once you register for Westlaw, you will have access to TWEN. For help registering for Westlaw, see the instructional video in this guide.
