The Dictionary of Homophobia by
Based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia is a mammoth, encyclopedic book that documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture. The book is the first English translation of Dictionnaire de L'Homophobie, published in France in 2003 to world-wide acclaim. The Dictionary includes over 175 essays on various aspects of gay rights and homophobia as experienced in all regions in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the South Pacific, from the earliest epochs to present day. Subjects include religious and ideological forces such as the Bible, Communism, Judaism, Hinduism, and Islam; historical events such as AIDS and Stonewall, personalities such as J. Edgar Hoover, Matthew Shepard, Oscar Wilde, Pat Buchanan, Joseph McCarthy, Pope John Paul II, and Anita Bryant; and other topics such as coming out, adoption, deportation, ex-gays, lesbiphobia, and bi-phobia. In a country where gay marriage, while legalized, remains a hot-button political issue, and in a world where adults and even teens are still being executed by authorities for the "crime" of homosexuality, The Dictionary of Homophobia is a both a revealing and necessary history lesson for us all.
Estate Planning for Same-Sex Couples by
Estate planning is more than deciding how an estate will be divided post-mortem. Sure that is a part of it, but the other part is .life planning. The key is honing in on the best way to protect your clients' interests during their lifetime. This new edition of Estate Planning for Same-Sex Couples by award-winning author Joan M. Burda attempts to address certain struggles for equality and how these issues affect estate planning for LGBT clients. For example, not all same-sex couples get married. This book will help lawyers better represent their clients as they address the present as well as future needs of their clientele."
Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Clients by 
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations by
Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations provides a detailed examination of the current methods and theoretical frameworks for conducting research with LGBT populations. Introducing greater nuance in designing and implementing research models for working with these populations, Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations provides guidelines for defining these groups, strategies to obtain more inclusive and representative samples, and methods for engaging these populations to produce consistent and relevant data. Collecting essays by notable researchers and scholars in the field, Handbook of Research with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Populations provides meaningful analyses of the ethics and practical constraints that researchers confront in dealing with LGBT populations--including protection of privacy--which is a special concern for many. For students, teachers, social workers, mental health professionals, and researchers of all backgrounds, this is an invaluable resource and guidebook for anyone seeking a better quality of understanding and engagement with LGBT individuals and communities.
Homosexuality and the Law by
This title offers background information on human sexuality from the fields of sociology, psychology, and anthropology and sheds light on how academic research has shaped the changing of relevant laws. In addition it includes coverage of transsexual, transgendered and intersexed legal concerns.
A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples by
Protect yourself and your loved one with sound legal planning Gay and lesbian couples have gained a lot of legal ground in recent years, including the right to marry. Although same-sex marriage is legal, it's important to stay up to speed on the laws governing parentage, adoption, civil unions, and domestic partnerships, which vary from state to state. And if you choose to remain unmarried, it's essential that you protect your rights and define your relationship in the eyes of the law--A Legal Guide for Lesbian & Gay Couples can help. This plain-English guide shows you how to: have and raise children through adoption, donors, surrogacy, or foster parenting jointly buy a house or other property make decisions about living together, marrying, or registering make a will or living trust make medical decisions for each other, and deal with the end of a relationship. The 20th edition is completely revised to provide the latest on same-sex relationships and parentage laws. With Downloadable Forms: includes access to 35 essential legal forms, including a sample parenting agreement, a will, and more.(details inside).
Same Sex, Different Politics: success and failure in the struggles over gay rights by 
Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and the Law in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal topics relating to sexual orientation, gender identity and the law. Topics covered include: regulation of sexuality, gender identity and expression, parenthood, marriage, United States military, nondiscrimination statutes and ordinances, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and religious freedom. Discussion includes developments at the federal, state and local level. Statutes discussed include Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; Title IX; the Fair Housing Act; the Affordable Care Act; Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell; Defense of Marriage Act, as well as some of the anti-LGBT rights measures that have been adopted in various states.