This is the "Quick Preemption Checklist" page of the "Quick Preemption Check" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Quick Preemption Check   Tags: paper writing preemption checklist  

When choosing a topic for a Note, how to check to make sure there is not another article on your chosen topic. This guide is designed for a quick check, not a thorough one.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.hofstra.edu/preemptioncheck Print Guide RSS Updates
Quick Preemption Checklist Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use this Guide

This guide is best used as a quick introduction for doing a preemption check.

For an excellent comprehensive guide, see Preemption Checking for Law Reviews & Journals from the USF Law School. 

Some of the links in the USF guide will not work for Hofstra students.  Some of those links will be available on this guide.  Please contact one of the guide authors to add other links.

 

Preemption Checklist

See boxes below for details on how to perform steps of Checklist.

1.  Search Index to Legal Periodicals

   a.  if looking at an interdisciplinary topic, search Axinn One Search for other relevant databases

2.  Search full text Law Reviews

3.  Search Google Scholar

4.  Search SSRN and other forthcoming article resources

5.  Check LawProf Blogs

6.  Check any relevant BNA publication, including U.S. Law Week

 

Search Index to Legal Periodicals

  • How to effectively utilize index features

1.  Run you keyword search in the box below.

2.  Identify relevant articles and look for subject descriptors

3.  Modify search using additional search terms and/or

4.   Modify search and use subject descriptors in addition to your keywords

  • Index to Legal Periodicals

Legal articles index

Search full-text law reviews

Search full-text databases for very specific issues.  Try the different databases listed below.

  • LexisNexis
    In LexisAdvance, run search. Choose Secondary tab, then narrow by Law Reviews and Journals (on left). To further refine, use Search within results.
  • Westlaw
    In WestlawNext, run search. In your results, on left click on Secondary Sources. Then, narrow by Law Reviews & Journals and apply filters. You can further refine your search using Search within results
  • Shepardize (Lexis) or KeyCite (Westlaw) a useful article to get later articles on your subject
  • HeinOnline
    Use HeinOnline to find older (pre 1995) articles and for finding pdfs. May not be as useful for full-text searching.

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find legal (and non-legal) articles.  To locate full text of article where link is not available, see Locating Articles tab in Paper Writing Resources.



Search Forthcoming articles

Search SSRN and  these sources to find forthcoming articles and working papers (papers in the publication process)

LawProf blogs

Find out what law professors are discussing.   Remember Ctrl F or Cmd F to find a particular term on a page.

  • Law Professor Blogs
    Search entire network of law professor blogs on left or find a topical blog on right

BNA publications - for current developments in the law

Assistant Director for Reference and Instruction

Profile Image
Lisa Spar
Contact Info
Lisa Spar l Assistant Director for Reference and Instructional Services and Special Professor of Law
Law Library l 122 Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549
516-463-5392 l lisa.a.spar@hofstra.edu
Send Email

Reference/Electronic Services Librarian

Profile Image
Marin Dell
Contact Info
516-463-0408
lawdyd@hofstra.edu
Hofstra Law Library - 100R
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip