This is the "Introduction" page of the "Health Law/Medicine/Bioethics: Selected Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Law/Medicine/Bioethics: Selected Sources   Tags: bioethics, health law, law and medicine  

This guide provides a selection of basic resources for research in heath care law and policy, bioethics, and interdisciplinary topics in law and medicine.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.law.hofstra.edu/healthlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide provides selected resources for locating background, scholarly materials, studies and reports, legislative, regulatory and policy developments, and statistical information for research in Health Law, Medicine, and Bioethics.  The primary focus is on sources particularly relevant to law students in courses on health law, health care policy and regulation, reproductive technology, bioethics and biotechnology.  It should also be useful for students investigating other topics at the intersection of law and medicine. 

This guide provides links for access to online databases available to the Hofstra Law community.  It also provides links to Hofstra University (Axinn Libary) resources and direct links to many free internet sites.

 

Health Law/Medicine/Bioethics: The Sources

Researching issues in health law, bioethics, biotechnology and pharmaceutical regulation, reproductive technology, or health care reform and policy typically requires the use of resources that are either topically focused or specialized, or provide access to interdisciplinary studies across disciplines such as economics, psychology, medicine, sociology, philosophy and political science.    

This guide includes some of the most useful resources for legal research in health law-related fields:

  • Treatises, texts, and reference works providing background information, data, and analysis for health law research;
  • Journal databases and portals providing access to articles and working papers;
  • Web resources of U.S. federal and state health agencies;
  • Current awareness resources with news and commentary on the most recent developments in health care law and policy: case law, pending and enacted federal and state legislation, litigation, and industry developments;
  • Sources of legislative history and analysis of health care-related legislation;
  • Sources of policy studies, reports and statisics from academic centers, nonprofit institutes, think tanks and health advocacy groups; and
  • Information, standards, and publications from medical and legal professional associations and industry organizations.

The guide is selective, with the focus on sources for American law and policy, although databases and web sites that include articles and information for foreign, global, and comparative health law research are included.  For assistance using the resources in this guide or locating other sources, contact the Reference Desk.  

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Toni L. Aiello
Contact Info
Toni L. Aiello, JD, MSLS |Reference Librarian | Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University Law Library |122 Hofstra University | Hempstead, NY 11549 | 516-463-7808
Send Email
 

Contact Us

phone icon Call Us:
516-463-5908
Reference Desk Hours
cat eyes icon Follow Our Blog:
Blog
Facebook icon Friend Us:
Law Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip