Searching For Articles In Full-Text Databases
Lexis and Westlaw
Lexis - Secondary Legal > Law Review & Journals > U.S. Law Reviews & Journals Combined
Westlaw - Legal Periodicals and Current Awareness > Journals and Law Reviews (JLR)
Can do complex Terms & Connectors searches. Coverage in both services extends only to approximately the early 1980's.
Found on the Law Library's Online Research Resources page.
Can do simple and advanced searches. Coverage for most journals goes back to their inception; however, the current year usually is not available.
Non-Legal Articles
Axinn Library
There are many articles located online in Axinn Library's databases, arranged both alphabetically and by subject. Some recommended databases are:
JSTOR - an archive of full-text PDF files for more than 1,400 journals from various academic disciplines, including economics, finance, history, philosophy, political science, and sociology. JSTOR does not include current documents, i.e., those from one to five years old.
Academic Search Complete (available here) - a highly comprehensive academic multidisciplinary database; includes full-text articles from over 4,650 serials.
New York Times Historical (available here)- 1851-2007 (Select New York Times Historical database)
Finding Articles |
Contact Info Kevin Shelton l Reference & Government Documents Librarian Law Library l 122 Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549 516-463-6150l Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Contact Us
| Call Us: 516-463-5908 Reference Desk Hours |
|
| Follow Our Blog: Blog |
|
| Friend Us: Law Library |

