Recommended Legal Treatises

Available on Westlaw.
.
.

Lawyers and judges across the United States have discovered that when it comes to administrative law, there is really only one authority: Administrative Law Treatise by Richard J. Pierce. Cited by the courts more than 4,000 times, this definitive three volume work now in its Sixth Edition brings you analysis of the latest developments with all the practical guidance and knowledge you need to plan and present an effective case before the courts. When your clients confront government administrative action whether it's rulemaking, adjudication, or investigation, do what your colleagues do: turn to the undisputed leader in the field. Richard J. Pierce shows you the most effective approaches to any agency action, policy or procedure. You'll get answers to such questions as: Which due process protections do individuals and companies enjoy under administrative law? What are the limits of an agency's power to subpoena, inspect, and gain access to records? When must an agency provide an oral evidentiary hearing? How and when are agencies likely to use their rulemaking power to resolve factual disputes? Richard J. Pierce also provides a unique, in-depth treatment of agency discretionary power, especially in relation to evidence in oral hearings and other essential matters of practice. There's no need to look elsewhere for the law that governs such areas as: SEC rulemaking, Medicare and Medicaid Jurisdiction in telecommunications disputes Warrantless inspection of premises FOIA exemptions Agency power to make retroactive rules Immunity of agency employees Regulation of toxic substances in the workplace Allocation of gas and electric services Criteria for evidence of disability Control of regional transportation authorities INS deportation, and more. Administrative Law Treatise, Sixth Edition, provides incomparable authority and guidance on the administrative law governing these and virtually every other significant agency power or procedure. If you practice before government agencies, act as agency counsel, or are connected with appeals involving agencies, you'll find that courts listen to Richard J. Pierce. Previous Edition: Administrative Law Treatise, Fifth Edition, ISBN 9780735580473

Current edition available on Vital Law.

Available only to Hofstra Law faculty, staff and students.

Library's print version not updated

Use link to access e-book.
Also available on Lexis.

Analyzing the Bankruptcy Code and Rules of the USA, this work examines the changes made by the 1994 Act and the system of jurisdiction over bankruptcy cases. The text also includes: a collection of forms; a volume of State Exemption Provisions; primary source and Legislative History relating to enactment of the Bankruptcy Code and all subsequent amendments; and a volume covering bankruptcy taxation issues. updates). The upkeep price for the work is $1747.50. Library CD (Product No. 566), the Collier on Bankruptcy CD (Product No. 551) and the Collier Bankruptcy Practice Package CD (Product No. 572).

Updated & available on Westlaw.
Library's print copy not updated after October 2014.

e-book available on West Academic

Current e-book edition available on VitalLaw. Use title link.

Available only to Hofstra Law faculty, staff and students.

Bromberg and Ribstein on Limited Liability Partnerships, the Revised Uniform Partnership Act, and the Uniform Limited Partnership Act gives you today's most complete, insightful analysis of how recent statutory and judicial developments are transforming modern partnership law. The new edition of this fast-action guide to RUPA and the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (2001) also provides coverage of the LLP statutes currently in force in all states and the District of Columbia. Expert authors Bromberg and Ribstein help you master the statutory foundation of partnership law. Coverage includes: Limited Liability Partnerships.The interpretation and application of limited liability provisions continue to be important in light of ongoing bankruptcies and litigation which carry the potential for significant liability of law firms and other professional firms, many of which are organized as limited liability partnerships (LLPs). Revised Uniform Partnership Act.The Revised Uniform Partnership Act (R.U.P.A.), adopted by 39 state jurisdictions, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, has become the statutory law of partnership and the basis for case law in the field. Uniform Limited Partnership Act (2001).The revised version of the Uniform Limited Partnership Act (U.L.P.A.) has already been adopted by 21 states and the District of Columbia, and is expected to be adopted by many other states as the successor to the 1985 version of the Revised Uniform Limited Partnership Act (R.U.L.P.A.). This indispensable edition delivers complete analysis of current partnership law. Master the statutory foundation of partnership law with quick reference charts on LLP formation requirements for all 50 states, authoritative, section-by-section analysis of the latest versions of RUPA and ULPA, tables comparing key provisions, an 11-point checklist for reviewing LLP partnership agreements, and more. In nine concise chapters, the esteemed authors explain how to: structure LLPs for maximum liability protection resolve choice of law problems and other litigation issues manage the impact of non-partnership laws, including tax treatment of LLPs This convenient guide puts at your fingertips: comparison of business forms, including a time saving decision tree quick reference charts of LLP formation requirements for all 50 states authoritative, section-by-section analysis of the latest versions of RUPA and ULPA full text of RUPA and ULPA, plus selected state LLC statutes tables comparing key provisions of state LLP statutes, including liability shields and foreign LLP provisions a handy 11-point checklist for reviewing LLP partnership agreements a separate chapter on LLLPs - limited liability limited partnerships application of nonpartnership law to limited liability partnerships, including tax, securities, bankruptcy, and more Put this indispensable edition to work in your practice today!

Current edition on West Academic
Prior edition available in print in Library

This Hornbook clarifies rather than simply recites corporation law, while paying attention to correcting common misconceptions held among students and attorneys about the subject. This book is also intended for courts and commentators seeking the appropriate resolution of issues of corporation law. It is written in a "user-friendly" style, with citations kept to a minimum. More than just an update, the Third Edition constitutes a significant expansion and refinement of the prior editions. Among the additions are thoughtful expositions on corporate rights, purpose and social responsibility and extended historical and comparative law discussions. There are also expanded and restructured discussions of policy and doctrine in areas ranging from mergers and acquisitions and securities regulation to corporate governance and the duties of directors and controlling shareholders. These enable the reader to both view corporate law in its broad policy framework at one end, while understanding the nuances of Delaware and U.S. Supreme Court decisions at the other.

Get fast, authoritative answers to today's hottest business law questions with Corporations, Second Edition. Find out the best ways to: - Interpret the business judgment rule, especially its demands on directors, burden of proof, and allocation of responsibility between shareholders and managers - Apply financial provisions of corporate statutes, such as those dealing with payment of dividends and issuing of shares - Fulfill directors' fiduciary duties, with attention to concepts of care and loyalty, relationship to shareholders, and regulation of proxy voting. The expert authors provide comprehensive, practical coverage of: - Statutory and judicial corporate law in its contemporary commercial context - The Revised Model Business Corporation Act and its variations in 20 states - Corporate law in Delaware, New York, California and other non-Model Act states - IRS safe harbors and check the box rules - Federal securities law as it affects business activity - And much more

Available on Lexis.
Law Library's print copy is updated